top of page


Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Awards Ceremony

On November 7, 2022, The Sir Winston Churchill Society of Edmonton, in partnership with the Government of Alberta, had the honour of awarding ten prestigious Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Medals at our Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Awards Ceremony.

The medals were presented by the Society’s Honourary Patron and Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, Her Honour, The Honourable Salma Lakhani, AOE, B.Sc., LLD (hon), to outstanding recipients who have distinguished themselves through their dedicated service and contributions to our province.

Recipients have made a significant difference in their communities by assisting refugees from Ukraine; supporting Habitat for Humanity; creating strategies to prevent academic failure in youth throughout the pandemic; helping victims and families recovering from sexual assault; building and maintaining a school in Nepal; demonstrating exemplary military service as an Honorary Colonel; improving the health and quality of life for citizens; advancing community enrichment endeavours; and fostering Edmonton youth leadership and higher education.

The commemorative medal was created to mark the 70th anniversary of Her Late Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada; our Society was one of 400 partners chosen to select 7,000 deserving Albertans to receive the prestigious medal.

Group photo. Seated: Her Honour, The Honourable Salma Lakhani, AOE, BSc and His Honour, Dr. Zaheer Lakhani. Standing, left to right: Josh Bilyk, Dr. John Edward Hutson, Brian Jones, Jill Wright, HCol Doug Cox, Mira Yuetong Zheng, HLCol Mary Cameron, Laura Sherrer-Townsend, Elisebeth Checkel and Scott Watson.

Featured Posts